Christensen and Porsborg families

Startet af Alicia Stover, 30 Dec 2010 - 21:53

Forrige emne - Næste emne

Alicia Stover

Hello, I am just beginning to look for possible relatives in Denmark and am not sure where to begin.  I have a document that lists my great-grandmother's home as Lyngby By.  My great-grandmother Frederikke Christensen married Frederick vilhelm Julius Jensen around 1890ish.  A picture of the family says it was taken at Testrukgaard, Lyngby, Jylland.  From there they moved to E. Skorringe, Lolland and finally they moved to Pueblo, Colorado, USA in 1904.  They had a herd of registered holstein cows that they brought with them and started a dairy just outside of Pueblo.

Frederikke and her siblings - Kristine (also listed as Christine) Marie, Jensine, Laura Jorgine and Anton Carl, were born to Jens and Maren Christensen.  Jens died in 1880 so Maren married Ludvig Porsborg from Stovring.  Ludvig took over the family farm, Bojbjaerggaard.

As far as I know, Frederikke was the only one to leave Denmark and so I am curious as to the family that stayed back home and how to go about locating them.  I am also interested in learning the past and more about my great-grandfather's family, but I will do that another time. 

I have always fascinated with Denmark and want to learn as much as I can about the country and where my family comes from.  Any help on where to start is very much appreciated.

Venlig Hilsen,
Alicia Stover

Lissa Pedersen

Hi Alicia,

You will find Maren in her 2nd marriage here (from www.ddd.dda.dk):

aalborg, Hellum, Lyngby, Lyngby Mark, Lyngby Sogn, Bosbjergaard, 147, FT-1890, D3730
Navn: Alder: Civilstand: Stilling i husstanden: Erhverv: Fødested:
Ludvig Porsborg 39  Gift Husfader Gaardeier Støvring
Maren Porsborg 39  Gift Husmoder  Lyngby
Frederikke Christensen 15  Ugift Barn  Lyngby
Krestine Christensen 14  Ugift Barn  Lyngby
Sine Christensen 13  Ugift Barn  Lyngby
Laura Christensen 12  Ugift Barn  Lyngby