Please help this kiwi trace my Flensborg born Danish great grt grt grandfather.

Startet af DelSaunders, 06 Maj 2012 - 09:48

Forrige emne - Næste emne

DelSaunders

Hello,

I am trying to locate information on Frederick Ohlson/Ohlsen ( both spellings have been used on records in New Zealand)

Frederick was born c1832 in Flensborg, he gives his nationality as Danish on all records in New Zealand.

It is believed that his parents were Marcus and Ann/Anna Christene Ohlson/Ohlsen. ( no known exact spelling for their first names)

Frederick was a master mariner and immigrated to New Zealand 1855 and was Naturalised in 1858. He married and had a family here in New Zealand. Frederick died NZ 1894.

I found a record on the igi but due to the fact that I have no knowledge of the Danish language, I am unable to assitain if the people are even connected. Have added thid in case it could be correct or ruled out.

Marcus Ohlsen
Anna Christina Neilson
son- Marcus Ohlsen -26 JUN 1836 Bov, Aabenraa-Sonderborg, Denmark

How likely would this be, is Sonderborg close to Flensborg?

Please please help me, this has been a brickwall for years :(

Regards
Del

Agnete Waagstein

Hello,

The babtism is found here: Bov, Lundtoft, Åbenrå page 215.

The entry is in German and my German is not that good, but the content is:

Born 12
baptism 26. June

Marcus Ohlsen of  ??  Marcus Ohlsen and Anna Christina born Nielsen, in Clues: a son

Sponsors:
Hinrich Lorenzen in Clues
Jürgen Nielsen
Anna Helene Sørensen

Sønderborg is close to Flensburg, about half an hour by car!
You should ask for a full translation in the forum to get the occupation of the father!

In 1836 Flensburg was Danish, therefore a son of Marcus – your Frederick - would regard himself as Danish.

Agnete Waagstein

DelSaunders

Citat fra: Agnete Waagstein Dato 06 Maj 2012 - 11:15
Hello,

The babtism is found here: Bov, Lundtoft, Åbenrå page 215.

The entry is in German and my German is not that good, but the content is:

Born 12